The Scotsman, Scotland On Sunday & Edinburgh Evening News

Quick Site Search
The Steamie
Scottish Politics Blog

Scottish Parliament Election 2011

Aberdeen CentralAberdeen DonsideAberdeen South & North KincardineAberdeenshire EastAberdeenshire WestAirdrie & ShottsAlmond ValleyAngus North & MearnsAngus SouthArgyll & ButeAyrBanffshire & Buchan CoastCaithness, Sutherland & RossCarrick, Cumnock & Doon ValleyClackmannanshire & DunblaneClydebank & MilngavieClydesdaleCoatbridge & ChrystonCowdenbeathCumbernauld & KilsythCunninghame NorthCunninghame SouthDumbartonDumfriesshireDundee City EastDundee City WestDunfermlineEast KilbrideEast LothianEastwoodEdinburgh CentralEdinburgh EasternEdinburgh Northern & LeithEdinburgh PentlandsEdinburgh SouthernEdinburgh WesternEdinburgh - individual constituencies are shown on the leftEttrick, Roxburgh & BerwickshireFalkirk EastFalkirk WestMid Fife & GlenrothesNorth East FifeGalloway & West DumfriesGlasgow AnnieslandGlasgow CathcartGlasgow KelvinGlasgow Maryhill & SpringburnGlasgow PollokGlasgow ProvanGlasgow ShettlestonGlasgow SouthsideGlasgow - individual constituencies are shown on the leftGreenock & InverclydeHamilton, Larkhall & StonehouseInverness & NairnKilmarnock & Irvine ValleyKirkcaldyLinlithgowMidlothian North & MusselburghMidlothian South, Tweeddale & LauderdaleMorayMotherwell & WishawNa h-Eileanan an IarOrkney IslandsPaisleyPerthshire NorthPerthshire South & Kinross-shireRenfrewshire North & WestRenfrewshire SouthRutherglenShetland IslandsSkye, Lochaber & BadenochStirlingStrathkelvin & BearsdenUddingston & BellshillCentral ScotlandGlasgowHighlands and IslandsLothiansMid Scotland and FifeNorth East ScotlandWest of ScotlandSouth of ScotlandJoin us on FacebookFollow us on Twitter

Holyrood Election 2011

Scotland has chosen its government for the next five years, and the SNP have won a clear majority.

After a dramatic night of mostly SNP highs and Labour lows, the Nationalists crossed the 65-seat mark to ensure they will return to Holyrood in a much stronger position.

Labour lost many of their supposedly safe seats, but this was largely due to voters switching allegiance from the Liberal Democrats to the SNP.

Election map guide

When you click on your area of the map, you will see a constituency profile and the full results for this year's election. To see Edinburgh and Glasgow consituencies and the regional results, you can click on the tabs to the left.

There have been significant boundary changes since the last election, so we have also included the notional 2007 results, which have been calculated in order to estimate which parties would have won each seat if the present boundaries had been in place.

Results explained

There are two ways in which MSPs are elected:

  • Each of the 73 constituencies elects one Member of Parliament (MSP) by the first-past-the-post system, where the candidate with the largest number of votes wins the seat.
  • In addition to this, a second vote is required to elect the seven additional MSPs for each of the eight regions (each formed by grouping together eight to ten consituencies), to fill the total of 129 seats. Regional MSPs are allocated seats using a formula which takes into account the number of constituency seats that an individual or party has already won. This method is known as party-list proportional representation.